Michigan Institute of Plasma Science and EngineeringPlasma SciencePlasma EngineeringPlasma Science and Engineering

FACULTY AND STAFF MEMBERS

University of Michigan
Michigan State University
Michigan Technological University
National and International Members
Former Members

Rebecca Anthony

Mechanical Engineering, Michigan State University

Jes Asmussen

Electrical and Computer Engineering, Michigan State University

Arvind Atreya

Mechanical Engineering, University of Michigan

Natalia Babaeva

Joint Institute for High Temperatures RAS, Russia

Shanker Balasubramaniam

Electrical and Computer Engineering, Michigan State University

Frederick Becchetti

Physics, University of Michigan

Martin Berz

Physics and Astronomy, Michigan State University

Stephen Bougher

Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering, University of Michigan

Iain Boyd

Aerospace Engineering, University of Michigan

David Chalenski

Yingda Cheng

Mathematics, Michigan State University

Yongjun Choi

Institute for Cyber-Enabled Research, Michigan State University

Andrew Christlieb

Computational Mathematics, Science and Engineering, Michigan State University

Herek Clack

Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Michigan

Sean Couch

Physics and Astronomy, Michigan State University

Paul Drake

Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering, University of Michigan

August Evrard

Physics, University of Michigan

Qi Hua Fan

Electrical and Computer Engineering, Michigan State University

Gennady Fiksel

Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences

John Foster

Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences, University of Michigan

Alec Gallimore

Aerospace Engineering, University of Michigan

Mirko Gamba

Aerospace Engineering, University of Michigan

Maria Carmen García Martínez

Departamento de Física Aplicada, University of Córdoba

Yogesh Gianchandani

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, University of Michigan

Brian Gilchrist

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, University of Michigan

Ron Gilgenbach

Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences, University of Michigan

Tamas Gombosi

Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering, University of Michigan

Dennis Grimard

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Timothy Grotjohn

Electrical and Computer Engineering, Michigan State University

John Hart

James Holloway

Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences, University of Michigan

Benjamin Jorns

Aerospace Engineering, University of Michigan

Chan Joshi

Electrical Engineering, UCLA

Eric Johnsen

Mechanical Engineering, University of Michigan

Nick Jordan

Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences, University of Michigan

Justin Kasper

Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering, University of Michigan

Paul Keiter

Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering, University of Michigan

L. Brad King

Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics, Michigan Technological University

Robert Krasny

Mathematics, University of Michigan

Karl Krushelnick

Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences, University of Michigan

Carolyn Kuranz

Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering, University of Michigan

Mark Kushner

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, University of Michigan

Yue Ying Lau

Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences, University of Michigan

Hae June Lee

Electrical Engineering, Pusan National University, Republic of Korea

Tonghun Lee

Mechanical Engineering, Michigan State University

Susan Lepri

Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering, University of Michigan

Michael Liemohn

Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering, University of Michigan

Benjamin Longmier

Aerospace Engineering, University of Michigan

Anatoly Maksimchuk

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, University of Michigan

Jyoti Mazumder

Mechanical Engineering, University of Michigan

Ryan McBride

Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences, University of Michigan

Eric Michielssen

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, University of Michigan

Mark Moldwin

Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering, University of Michigan

John Nees

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, University of Michigan

Brian O'Shea

Physics and Astronomy, Michigan State University

Stella Pang

Jim Raines

Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering, University of Michigan

Nilton Renno

Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering, University of Michigan

Edward Rothwell

Electrical and Computer Engineering, Michigan State University

Mateusz Ruszkowski

Astronomy, University of Michigan

Thomas Schuelke

Electrical and Computer Engineering, Michigan State University

J. P. Sheehan

Aerospace Engineering

Max Shtein

Materials Science and Engineering, University of Michigan

Volker Sick

Mechanical Engineering, University of Michigan

James Slavin

Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering, University of Michigan

Timothy Smith

Aerospace Engineering, University of Michigan

Shuichi Takayama

Biomedical Engineering, University of Michigan

Fred Terry

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, University of Michigan

Alexander Thomas

Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences, University of Michigan

Gabor Toth

Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering, University of Michigan

John Verboncoeur

Electrical and Computer Engineering, Michigan State University

Louise Willingale

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, University of Michigan

Kensall Wise

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, University of Michigan

Margaret Wooldridge

Mechanical Engineering, University of Michigan

Zhongmin Xiong

Victor Yanovsky

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, University of Michigan

Peng Zhang

Electrical and Computer Engineering, Michigan State University

Thomas H. Zurbuchen

NASA

UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Yogesh Gianchandani

Yogesh Gianchandani
Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Office: 2403 EECS
Phone: 734-763-9030
Fax: 734-763-9324
Email: yogesh@umich.edu
Websites: Yogesh Gianchandani . WIMS2

Brian Gilchrist

Brian Gilchrist
Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Office: 2240 EECS
Phone: 734-763-6230
Fax: 734-763-1503
Email: gilchrst@eecs.umich.edu
Website: Brian Gilchrist

Mark J. Kushner

Mark J. Kushner
Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Office: 2236 EECS
Phone: 734-647-1695
Email: mjkush@umich.edu
Website: Computational Optical and Discharge Physics Group (CODPG)

Anatoly Maksimchuk

Anatoly Maksimchuk
Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Office: 1010 Gerstacker
Phone: 734-763-6007
Fax: 734-763-4876
Email: tolya@umich.edu
Website: Anatoly Maksimchuk

Eric Michielssen

Eric Michielssen
Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Office: 3420 EECS
Phone: 734-647-1793
Email: emichiel@umich.edu
Website: Eric Michielssen

John Nees

John Nees
Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Office: 1012 Gerstaker
Phone: 734-764-9271
Fax: 734-763-4876
Email: nees@eecs.umich.edu
Website: CUOS

Fred Terry

Fred Terry
Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Office: 2417 EECS
Phone: 734-763-9764
Email: fredty@umich.edu
Website: Fred Terry

Louise Willingale

Louise Willingale
Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Office: 1906 Cooley
Phone: 734-763-4980
Email: wlouise@umich.edu
Website: Louise Willingale
Presently with Cockcroft Accelerator Institute and Lancaster University

Ken Wise

Ken Wise
Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Office: 2401 EECS
Phone: 734-764-3346
Fax: 734-647-2342
Email: wise@umich.edu
Websites: Ken Wise . WIMS2

Victor Yanovsky

Victor Yanovsky
Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Office: 1014 Gerstacker Building
Phone: 734-647-0971
Fax: 734-763-4876
Email: vpy@eecs.umich.edu
Website: Victor Yanovsky

Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences

Photo not available

Gennady Fiksel
Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences
Office: 1906 Cooley
Phone: 734-647-3769
Email: gfiksel@umich.edu

John Foster

John Foster
Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences
Office: 2915 Cooley
Phone: 734-764-1976
Email: jefoster@umich.edu
Website: Plasma Science and Technology Group

Ron Gilgenbach

Ron Gilgenbach
Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences
Office: 1941 Cooley Memorial Laboratory
Phone: 734-763-1261
Email: rongilg@umich.edu
Website: Plasma, Pulsed Power, and Microwave Laboratory

James Holloway

James Holloway
Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences
Office: 1261 Lurie Engineering Center
Phone: 734-936-3126
Fax: 734-763-4540
Email: hagar@umich.edu
Website: James Holloway

No photo available

Nick Jordan
Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences
Office: 112 NAME
Phone: 734-763-0213
Email: jordann@umich.edu

Karl Krushelnick

Karl Krushelnick
Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences
Physics Department
Office: 6103 ERB-1
Phone: 734-763-4877
Fax: 734-763-4876
Email: kmkr@umich.edu
Website: Center for Ultrafast Optical Science (CUOS)

Yue Ying Lau

Yue Ying Lau
Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences
Office: 2923 Cooley Memorial Laboratory
Phone: 734-764-5122
Email: yylau@umich.edu
Website: Yue Ying Lau

Ryan McBride

Ryan McBride
Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences
Office: 1941 Cooley Memorial Laboratory
Phone: 734-763-7504
Email: mcbrider@umich.edu
Website: Ryan McBride

Alexander Thomas

Alexander Thomas
Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences
Office: 6107 ERB-2
Phone: 734-763-6008
Email: agrt@umich.edu
Website: Alexander Thomas
Presently with Cockcroft Accelerator Institute and Lancaster University

Aerospace Engineering

Iain Boyd

Iain Boyd
Aerospace Engineering
Office: 3012 FXB
Phone: 734-615-3281
Fax: 734-763-0578
Email: iainboyd@umich.edu
Website: Nonequilibrium Gas and Plasma Dynamics Laboratory

Alec Gallimore

Alec Gallimore
Aerospace Engineering
Office: 3037 FXB
Phone: 734-764-8224
Fax: 734-763-0578
Email: alec.gallimore@umich.edu
Websites: Plasmadynamics and Electric Propulsion Lab (PEPL)

Mirko Gamba

Mirko Gamba
Aerospace Engineering
Office: 3045 FXB
Phone: 734-764-6675
Fax: 734-763-0578
Email: mirkog@umich.edu
Websites: Gas Dynamics Imaging Laboratory

Benjamin Jorns

Benjamin Jorns
Aerospace Engineering
Phone: 734-764-8224
Email: bjorns@umich.edu
Website: Plasmadynamics and Electric Propulsion Lab (PEPL)

Ben Lognmier

Benjamin Longmier
Aerospace Engineering
Office: 3053 FXB
Phone: 734-764-6792
Email: longmier@umich.edu
Website: Benjamin Longmier

JP Sheehan

J. P. Sheehan
Aerospace Engineering
Office: 3017 FXB
Phone: 734-764-6792
Email: sheehanj@umich.edu
Website: J. P. Sheehan

Tim Smith

Timothy Smith
Aerospace Engineering
Office: 3041 FXB
Phone: 734-615-7278
Email: timsmith@umich.edu
Website: Tim Smith

Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering

Stephen Bougher

Stephen Bougher
Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering
Office: 2418C Space Research Laboratory
Phone: 734-647-3585
Fax: 734-615-9723
Email: bougher@umich.edu
Website: Stephen Bougher

R. Paul Drake

R. Paul Drake
Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering
Office: 1420 Space Research Laboratory
Phone: 734-763-4072
Fax: 734-647-3083
Email: rpdrake@umich.edu
Website: Center for Radiative Shock Hydrodynamics (CRASH)

Tamas Gombosi

Tamas Gombosi
Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering
Office: 1517 Space Research Building
Phone: 734-764-7222
Fax: 734-615-4645
Email: tamas@umich.edu
Websites: Tamas Gombosi .Center for Space Environment Modeling

Justin Kasper

Justin Kasper
Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering
Phone: 734-647-3350
Email: jckasper@umich.edu
Website: Justin Kasper

Paul Keiter

Paul Keiter
Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering
Office: 2106 Space Research Building
Phone: 734-647-9860
Email: pkeiter@umich.edu
Website: Paul Keiter

Carolyn Kuranz

Carolyn Kuranz
Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering
Office: 1424A SRB
Phone: 734-615-6282
Fax: 734-647-3083
Email: ckuranz@umich.edu
Website: Center for Radiative Shock Hydrodynamics (CRASH)

Susan Lepri

Susan Lepri
Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering
Office: 2417 SRB
Phone: 410-575-3774
Fax: 734-615-9723
Email: slepri@umich.edu
Website: The Solar and Heliospheric Research Group

Michael Liemohn

Michael Liemohn
Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering
Office: 1436 Space Research Building
Phone: 734-763-6229
Fax: 734-647-3083
Email: liemohn@umich.edu
Website: Michael Liemohn

Mark Moldwin

Mark Moldwin
Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering
Office: 1429 Space Research Building
Phone: 310-825-5556
Email: mmoldwin@umich.edu
Website: Mark Moldwin

Jim Raines

Jim Raines
Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering
Office: 2415A Space Research Building
Phone: 734-763-6223
Email: jraines@umich.edu
Website: The Solar and Heliospheric Research Group

Nilton Renno

Nilton Renno
Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering
Office: 1531C SRB
Phone: 734-936-0488
Fax: 734-936-0503
Email: nrenno@umich.edu
Website: Nilton Renno

James Slavin

James Slavin
Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering
Office: 1517 SRB
Email: jaslavin@umich.edu
Website: James A. Slavin

Gabor Toth

Gábor Tóth
Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering
Office: 1424C SRB
Phone: 734-615-5362
Email: gtoth@umich.edu
Website: Gábor Tóth

Mechanical Engineering

Arvind Atreya

Arvind Atreya
Mechanical Engineering
Office: 2158 GGB
Phone: 734-647-4790
Fax: 734-647-3170
Email: aatreya@umich.edu
Website: Arvind Atreya

Eric Johnsen

Eric Johnsen
Mechanical Engineering
Office: 2015 Lay Automotive Lab
Phone: 734-647-1450
Email: ejohnsen@umich.edu
Website: Eric Johnsen

Jyoti Mazumder

Jyoti Mazumder
Mechanical Engineering
Office: 2041 GG Brown
Phone: 734-647-6824
Fax: 734-763-5772
Email: mazumder@umich.edu
Website: Jyoti Mazumder

Volker Sick

Volker Sick
Mechanical Engineering
Office: 2023 W. E. Lay Automotive Lab
Phone: 734-647-9607
Fax: 734-764-4256
Email: vsick@umich.edu
Website: Volker Sick

Margaret S. Wooldridge

Margaret S. Wooldridge
Mechanical Engineering;
Aerospace Engineering
Office: 2156 GGB
Phone: 734-936-0349
Fax: 734-647-3170
Email: mswool@umich.edu
Website: Combustion Laboratory

Materials Science and Engineering

Max Shtein

Max Shtein
Materials Science and Engineering
Office: 2014 Dow
Phone: 734-764-4312
Fax: 734-763-4788
Email: mshtein@umich.edu
Website: Max Shtein

Biomedical Engineering

Shuichi Takayama

Shuichi Takayama
Biomedical Engineering
Office: 2115 Carl A. Gerstacker Building
Phone: 734-615-5539
Fax: 734-936-1905
Email: takayama@umich.edu
Website: The Micro/Nano/Molecular Biotechnology Lab

Civil and Environmental Engineering

Herek Clack

Herek Clack
Civil and Environmental Engineering
Office: 169 EWRE Building
Phone: 734-763-6830
Fax: 734-764-4292
Email: hclack@umich.edu
Website: Clack Lab

Physics

Frederick Becchetti Jr.

Frederick Becchetti Jr.
Physics Department
Office: 2241 Randall
Phone: 734-764-1598
Fax: 764-6843
Email: fdb@umich.edu
Website: TwinSol

August Evrard

August Evrard
Physics Department
Office: 3245 Randall
Phone: 734-764-4366
Email: evrard@umich.edu
Website: August Evrard

Mathematics

Robert Krasny

Robert Krasny
Mathematics
Office: 4830 East Hall
Phone: 734-763-3505
Fax: 734-763-0937
Email: krasny@umich.edu
Website: Robert Krasny

Astronomy

Mateusz Ruszkowski

Mateusz Ruszkowski
Astronomy
Office: 833 Dennison Building
Phone: 734-255-4249
Fax: 734-763-6317
Email: mateuszr@umich.edu
Website: Mateusz Ruszkowski

MICHIGAN STATE UNIVERSITY

Electrical and Computer Engineering

Jes Asmussen

Jes Asmussen
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Office: B100 & C104 Engineering Research Complex
Phone: 517-355-4620
Fax: 517-353-1980
Email: asmussen@msu.edu
Website: Jes Asmussen

Shanker Balasubramaniam

Shanker Balasubramaniam
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Office: 2120 Engineering Building
Phone: 517-432-8136
Fax: 517-353-1980
Email: bshanker@msu.edu
Website: Shanker Balasubramaniam

Qi Hua Fan

Qi Hua Fan
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Phone: 517-355-5066
Email: qfan@msu.edu
Website: Qi Hua Fan

Timothy Grotjohn

Timothy Grotjohn
Chair, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Office: 2120 Engineering Building, C105 Engineering Research Complex
Phone: 517-353-8906, 517-432-7127
Fax: 517-353-1980
Email: grotjohn@egr.msu.edu
Website: Timothy Grotjohn

Edward Rothwell

Edward Rothwell
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Office: 2120 Engineering Building
Phone: 517 355-5231
Fax: 517 353-1980
Email: rothwell@egr.msu.edu
Website: Edward Rothwell

Thomas Schuelke

Thomas Schuelke
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Office: B100 Engineering Research Complex
Phone: 517 432-8173
Email: tschuelke@fraunhofer.org
Director, Fraunhofer USA

John Verboncoeur

John Verboncoeur
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Email: johnv@msu.edu
Website: John Verboncoeur

Peng Zhang

Peng Zhang
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Office: 2507A Engineering Building
Email: pz@egr.msu.edu
Website: NanoPATh Group

Computational Mathematics, Science and Engineering

Andrew Christlieb

Andrew Christlieb
Computational Mathematics, Science and Engineering
Office: D304 Wells Hall
Phone: 517-353-3831
Fax: 517-432-1562
Email: christli@msu.edu
Website: Andrew Christlieb

Mechanical Engineering

Rebecca Anthony

Rebecca Anthony
Mechanical Engineering
Office: 2453 Engineering Building
Phone: 517-432-7491
Email: anthon92@msu.edu
Website: Rebecca Anthony

Physics and Astronomy

Martin Berz

Martin Berz
Physics and Astronomy
Phone: 517-884-5583
Fax: 800-540-2433
Email: berz@msu.edu
Website: Martin Berz

Sean Couch

Sean Couch
Physics and Astronomy
Office: 3250 Biomedical and Physical Sciences Building
Phone: 517-884-5035
Email: couch@pa.msu.edu
Website: Sean Couch

Brian O'Shea

Brian O'Shea
Lyman Briggs College and Dept. of Physics and Astronomy
Phone: 517-884-5638
Email: oshea@msu.edu
Website: Brian W. O'Shea

Mathematics

Yingda Cheng

Yingda Cheng
Mathematics
Office: A337 Wells Hall
Phone: 517-353-6332
Email: ycheng@msu.edu
Website: Yingda Cheng

Institute for Cyber-Enabled Research

Youngjun Choi

Youngjun Choi
MSU Institute for Cyber-Enabled Research
Email: choiyj@msu.edu

MICHIGAN TECHNOLOGICAL UNIVERSITY

Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics

Brad King

Brad King
MTU Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics
Phone: 906-487-2683
Email: lbking@mtu.edu
Website: ISP Lab

NATIONAL AND INTERNATIONAL MEMBERS

Natalie Yu. Babaeva

Natalia Babaeva
Joint Institute for High Temperatures RAS, Russia
Email: nbabaeva@ihed.ras.ru

Maria Garcia Martinez

Maria Carmen García Martínez
Física Aplicada, University of Córdoba, Spain
Email: fa1gamam@uco.es

Dennis Grimard

Dennis Grimard
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Email: dgrimard@mit.edu

Chan Joshi

Chandrasekhar Joshi
Electrical Engineering, UCLA
Phone: 310-825-7279
Email: cjoshi@ucla.edu
Website: UCLA Plasma Accelerator Group/Laser-Plasma Interactions

Hae June Lee

Hae June Lee
Electrical Engineering, Pusan National University, Republic of Korea
Email: haejune@pusan.ac.kr

Thomas Zurbuchen

Thomas Zurbuchen
Science Mission Directorate, NASA

FORMER MEMBERS