• image1
  • image2
  • image3
  • image4

Seminars 2017-2018

Fall 2017

Download schedule as PDF

Date Speaker (Affiliation) Title, Abstract, Presentation
Wednesday 20 September 2017 3:30 - 4:30 pm 1005 EECS Prof. Martin Gundersen University of Southern California Nanosecond Pulsed Power-Generated Transient Plasma for Energy and Environmental Applications Watch the lecture Download slides: PPTX (9.6 MB), PDF (3.7 MB)
Wednesday 27 September 2017 3:30 - 4:30 pm 1005 EECS Dr. Gregory Rochau Sandia National Laboratories A Multi-Dimensional View of the U.S. Inertial Confinement Fusion Program Watch the lecture Download slides: PDF (7.2 MB)
Friday 29 September 2017 4:00 - 5:00 pm G906 Cooley Prof. Rami Kishek University of Maryland Recent Advances in Theory of Multipactor Discharges Joint NERS-MIPSE seminar
Wednesday 18 October 2017 3:30 - 4:30 pm 1005 EECS Dr. Tiberius Moran-Lopez National Nuclear Security Administration Bridging HED Plasma Sciences to Stockpile Stewardship and Defense Applications Download slides: PDF (7.4 MB)
CANCELED Thursday 9 November 2017 CANCELED Dr. Samuel Cohen Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory CANCELED
Wednesday 15 November 2017 3:30 - 4:30 pm 1005 EECS Dr. Philipp Grete Michigan State University Energy Transfer in Compressible Magnetohydrodynamic Turbulence
Wednesday 29 November 2017 3:30 - 4:30 pm 1005 EECS Dr. Mark Herrmann Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory Creating, Diagnosing, and Controlling High Energy Density Matter with the National Ignition Facility

Winter 2018

Date, Time, Location Speaker (Affiliation) Title, Abstract, Presentation
Wednesday 17 January 2018 3:30 - 4:30 pm 1005 EECS Dr. John Brophy NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory Ion Propulsion and the Job-Creating Power of the Rocket Equation
Wednesday 14 February 2018 3:30 - 4:30 pm 1005 EECS Dr. Gian Luca Delzanno Los Alamos National Laboratory
Wednesday 28 March 2018 3:30 - 4:30 pm 1005 EECS Prof. Mark Cappelli Stanford University
Wednesday 4 April 2018 3:30 - 4:30 pm 1005 EECS Prof. Selma Mededovic Thagard Clarkson University